Bootstrap 3 – Bootstrap Technical Hub – A One-stop Shop for Powerful Bootstrap Utilities

Web designing has a steep learning curve, especially when you are in the process of building intricate websites with complex functionality. In the past, you would be engrossed in developing the entire functionality with the aid of JavaScript. However, with the advent of batteries-loaded frameworks such as Bootstrap, the development process has become easier, thereby lowering the learning curve significantly.

Bootstrap has gained immense popularity and there are several ready-made themes, templates, snippets, plugins, and editors that simplify the art of website creation. Some of the toolkits help you streamline your development process to such an extent that you can create a website in a matter of minutes. Apart from the official plugins and components, there are hundreds of resources built around Bootstrap that can help you get to grips with powerful web designing.

In this chapter, you’ll learn the imperative utilities in brief so that you will be able to use them for your projects. We’ll section the utilities according to their categories, which are as follows:

  • Themes and templates
  • Ready-made resources and plugins
  • Development tools and editors
  • Official Bootstrap resources
    • Bootlint
    • Bootstrap for SaaS
    • Bootstrap Expo

Now that we’ve defined what you’ll be learning, let’s take a look at each category.

Themes and templates

We’ll now look at some of the free as well as commercial tailored themes and templates that help you build websites quickly and accurately, saving you significant time and effort and freeing you to focus on more important things in your web development projects.

Open source themes and templates

There are many websites that offer themes and templates absolutely free in addition to them being used for personal as well as commercial use. The following are a few of them:

  • Start Bootstrap (http://startbootstrap.com/): Start Bootstrap is an open source library of Bootstrap 3 themes and templates which are tailor-made for specific purposes such as an e-commerce website or an admin dashboard. You can use them for personal and commercial use.
  • Bootswatch (http://bootswatch.com/): Bootswatch offers free themes that you can have by simply downloading the CSS file and replacing the one in Bootstrap. Bootswatch implements a modular approach where the changes are contained in just two LESS files resulting in easy maintenance, simple modification, and ensuring forward compatibility. It also has an API that helps you integrate those themes with your platform.
  • Black Tie (http://www.blacktie.co/): Black Tie has a collection of modern themes that you can download and even customize as per your requirement. It is quite a useful source as some of the themes are tailored for conjunction with several platforms such as Tumblr, Drupal, and WordPress.
  • Bootstrap Zero (http://bootstrapzero.com/): Bootstrap Zero is one of the largest free template collections for the Bootstrap platform. It has accumulated the best and widely-used templates from various sources, and you can find just about any template here. The makers of Bootstrap Zero are working on including toolkits and other resources on their website to make it a one-stop destination for Bootstrap third-party add-ons.
  • Bootplus (http://aozora.github.io/bootplus/): Bootplus is a sleek and intuitive Google-styled frontend framework to streamline web designing using Bootstrap.
  • Fbootstrapp (http://ckrack.github.io/fbootstrapp/): Fbootstrapp is a toolkit that helps you kick start the development of Facebook-styled iframe apps.
  • Bootmetro (http://aozora.github.io/bootmetro/): Bootmetro is a framework that helps you develop modern intuitive web apps with the look and feel of Windows 8, including compatibility with modern browsers such as Chrome, Firefox, and Opera.

Sites such as GetTemplate (http://www.gettemplate.com/), Flatstrap (http://flatstrap.org/), Cardeostrap (http://cardeostrap.cardeo.ca/), VegiThemes (http://vegibit.com/vegithemes-twitter-bootstrap-themes/), and Bootstrap Taste (http://bootstraptaste.com/) do have a sizeable count of themes and templates that will help you develop webpages in an hour’s time.

Commercial themes and templates

Apart from the abundant free themes and templates, there are commercial ready-made themes and templates that come at an affordable price which you can implement for your business needs. The themes and templates are specifically created for those customers who want a quick-fix solution related to web design for their organization.

Following are the various websites that host a wide array of themes and templates:

  • Wrapbootstrap (https://wrapbootstrap.com/)
  • Theme Forest (http://themeforest.net/)
  • Design Modo (http://designmodo.com/shop/?u=787)
  • Grid Gum (http://gridgum.com/themes/category/bootstrap-themes/)
  • Bootstrap Bay (http://bootstrapbay.com/)
  • Bootstrap Made (https://bootstrapmade.com/)
  • Creative Market (https://creativemarket.com/themes/bootstrap)
  • PixelKit (http://pixelkit.com/)

Comments are closed.